Seven Counties

A Brief Introduction:

Monroe County

Duval Street on Key WestMonroe County was founded in 1823 and named after President
James Monroe who served from 1817 to 1825. Key West, the county seat, has a storied history and is the southernmost point of the continental United States. In 2010 the county and its incorporated municipalities had a population of 73,090 people. Monroe County is over 3,700 square miles, mostly water (73%), and is made up of the Florida Keys and portions of Everglades National Park and Big Cypress National Reserve. More than 99% of the county’s population lives on the Florida Keys, which at over 220 miles in length and spanned by over 40 bridges are at no point more than four miles from the water.

Miami-Dade County

Art Deco buildings in Miami BeachMiami-Dade County was created in 1836 under the Territorial Act of the United States. It was named after Major Francis Dade, a soldier who was killed in the Second Seminole War. The County is home to 35 incorporated cities, including the City of Miami, which is the county seat and its largest city. In 2010 Miami-Dade
County had a population of 2,496,435 people, making it the most populous county in Florida and the eighth-most populous in the United States. The county has 1,898 square miles of land, including 84 miles of coastline, 22 miles of beaches, and 67 miles of inland waterways. Miami has the largest population of new arrivals to the US. Miami is the only metropolitan area in the
Country that borders two national parks: Biscayne National Park and Everglades National Park.

Broward County

Fort Lauderdale is the seat of Broward County, and its largest cityBroward County was named after Napoleon Bonaparte Broward, the Governor of Florida from 1905 to 1909. The County was created in 1915 out of parts of Dade and Palm Beach Counties. The City of Fort Lauderdale is the county seat, and the county has a total of 31 incorporated communities. In 2010 the County had a population of 1,748,066 people, making it the secondmost populous county in Florida. Broward County has 1,209 square miles of land, with 24 miles of ocean coastline. Fort Lauderdale is sometimes called the “Venice of America” for its extensive system of inland waterways.

Palm Beach County

Houses on Charleston Place, Palm Beach CountyPalm Beach County was created in 1909 and named after its first settled community, Palm Beach. The county is in the geographic center of the Southeast Florida coast and attracts large numbers of tourists and second-home-owners every year. The largest city is West Palm Beach, which is also the county seat. The county has 38 incorporated municipalities and a 2010 population of 1,320,134 people. Palm Beach County has 1,969 square miles of land and 45 miles of Atlantic coastline, making it the second largest county in Florida by land area. It includes the Everglades Agricultural Area which at over 700,000 acres is the largest continuous agricultural land mass in the region. Palm Beach is also one of the wealthiest counties in Florida.

Martin County

Neighborhoods along the Atlantic CoastMartin County was founded in 1925 and named for John W. Martin, Governor of Florida from 1925 to 1929. The City of Stuart is the county seat and the County is home to three other incorporated towns. In 2010 the County had a population of 146,318 people. Martin County has 543 square miles of land with 22 miles of beaches. Canals in Martin County cross from Lake Okeechobee to the Atlantic Ocean which have challenged the county’s ability to protect its estuaries and nearshore ocean  habitats. Known for its “good nature” the county includes the Hobe Sound National Wildlife Refuge, Savannas Preserve State Park, Possum Long Nature Center, St. Lucie Inlet Preserve State Park, and Jonathan Dickinson State Park.

St. Lucie

Ft. Pierce, St. Lucie CountyThe County was named after the Spanish began construction of a fort on December 13, on the feast day of the Roman Catholic Saint Lucia, sometime around 1560. Incorporated municipalities include Fort Pierce, the county seat, and Port St. Lucie, the fourth most poulated city in the region. In 2010 the County was home to 277,789 people. St. Lucie County has 572 square miles of land with 21 miles of beaches and over 10,000 acres of parks and preserves. St. Lucie County hosts the spring training home of the New York Mets and by percentage is the fastest growing county in the region.

Indian River

Windsor, Indian River CountyNamed for the Indian River Lagoon in 1925 the County had been
part of the Spanish colony of East Florida since 1821 and home to early fishing colonies like Sebastian. Vero Beach is the county seat; other incorporated municipalities include Fellsmere, Indian River Shores, Orchid, and Sebastian. In 2010 the county was home to 138,028 people and is one of the least developed and densely populated county in the region. The county has 503 square miles of land with over 23 miles of coastline and a barrier islands system running the entire length of the County. Indian River County still produces its share of the famed Indian River Citrus. Pelican Island National Wildlife Refuge established in 1903 was the Country’s first wildlife refuge. Ninety percent of the population is situated within ten miles of the Atlantic Coast.

Print Friendly

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *